So…Lent. Let’s Discuss.

Today is Fat Tuesday. I am sad to report that I am in fact not in New Orleans celebrating. Someday, Tami, someday.  Instead I celebrated with sweet potato tortilla chips, pineapple salsa and Merlot. The Merlot is a regular, the chips and salsa the celebration. And then there’s tomorrow, the first day of Lent.

I am firm believer that if the Holy Spirit moves you to give up something for Lent then absolutely do it. But if not, treat it as a time to reflect on the life of Jesus for 40 days, that is if you’re a Christian, or just think that that would be neat to do, and if not, reflect on how you can better yourself. Or don’t.

For myself, I haven’t been moved to give up anything in particular, but I do know that I want to be better in many areas of my life. I know that when Jer’s alarm goes off at 5:30 I remember the days when E was an infant and I had to get up at 4:45 to work out. And I did it. Nearly every day. Yet now I moan if she wakes before 6:30, as I can work out during her nap time. I could do a lot in an hour, especially two hours (her usual wake time is around 7:30). I know that many days I regret not spending more time in prayer and meditation. Both of which I could do well, by myself, for an hour or two every morning.

Regardless of your religious beliefs, could you benefit from an hour or so of peaceful reflection and mediation in the morning before the insanity of the day starts? I for one know that I could.  I know when I am quick to snap at E for being a toddler and throwing fits because she can’t do something, followed by regretting my snippy words. I know I need that time when I feel like I am never alone and really want to be, even when all the people around me want is to spend time and enjoy the moment. I also know that I need a big push to get myself up at 5:30. Insert Lent here.

So this year for Lent, I am giving up my hour or so of snoozing in the AM to have more time with God and myself. My desire is that this will lead to a good weekday routine that I can continue on with far past Lent.  More importantly, a daily routine that will help me to be a better mother, wife and Christian. But for now, I am focusing on tomorrow, and 5:30 AM.

What are your thoughts on lent? Yay or Nay?

 

Leave a Reply

