Fashion Friday: Color Blocking, Pastels and Mixing Metals

So many fun looks are coming into play this season, from bold patterns to vintage flares and soft pastels. I’m personally not a huge fan of bold patterns on myself, I can appreciate them from afar but on me, they just don’t work. Style should always be about what feels best on you. “Beauty comes from the inside” is a statement that applies to all aspects of beauty and fashion, but especially fashion. When you feel amazing in an outfit it shows.  You’ll hear myself and others talk about “best practices” but if something works for you (besides leggings as pants. That’s never a good choice.) then by all means rock it!

For myself, that “look” that makes me feel fabulous in any season is the clean, crisp look of color blocking, or combining one solid color piece with another. Two of my favorite colors, mint and coral, are in high demand this season, so I’ve combined them here with ankle length skinny jeans and a boxy blouse, along with black wedges to finish it off.

Front View Sunnies

 

I love this coral blouse for it’s comfortable and flattering fit, as well as its built in necklace of sorts with its gold zipper. Mixing silver and gold is very much in right now, which is great for me since I always do it anyways! I’ve added silver hoops and silver and gold bangles to add to the metal mix.

Front View Sunnies

 

My oversized sunnies, like my metal mixing, are  ever-present in my personal style. Sunglasses trends come and go, but make sure to wear ones that compliment your unique features. The on-trend aviators (are they ever not on-trend?) make my face appear hollow. So I stick with my big guys.

Front View

 

E is seen here sporting a white on pink color block look. With mom’s purse in tow. It’s all glamour all the time here. In between the peanut butter covered fingers and diaper changes.

Like the look?

Sunnies: Vera Wang //Earrings: New York & Company//Boxy Blouse: New York & Company//Bangles: Premier Designs//Jeans: Gap Similar Here//Wedges: Emerson Fry Similar Here// Purse: Prada Similar Here

8 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: Color Blocking, Pastels and Mixing Metals

  1. I love that outfit. I have a pair of light pink skinny jeans I can’t wait to break out with a mint shirt. What a little cutie too.

    • Ya, E is a trip and a half! 18 months going on 16 years old. I LOVE the mint and coral/pink combo, not so bold as the traditional pink and green but fun and colorful nonetheless! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    • Oh thanks so much for finding me! Yes I love the playroom ideas, we are going from a two bedroom townhouse to a four bedroom home, so lots of room for play areas!

    • Thanks for reading my Fashion Friday post! If you’re feeling the pastels you’ll love this Friday’s Fashion post, a pastel but with a pattern to it! And I bet you could pull pastel’s off beautifully 🙂

Leave a Reply

