Why You Need Those Five Minutes, Mom

Before I had E, and before I met Jer, I worked nights at a May Institute home for children with severe Autism. During the day I worked in a pre-school and attended graduate school as well. While working at The May, it was drilled into my head at trainings and meetings with my superiors that we, as caretakers of these children, had to put our health and safety first. If we weren’t able to be at our best, then we couldn’t give these children our best and care for them as they needed. Sound advice.

I take the same stance as a mom, wife, homemaker and business owner. If I’m not at my best, then no one, not my child, my husband, my extended family or my clients are receiving the care and treatment they deserve. Translation: If mama isn’t happy, nobody is happy.

This is why I created the Five Minutes for Mom segment of my blog, and why I so strongly believe in the need for moms to start taking their self care seriously. Maybe pampering yourself and putting your best face forward isn’t your thing. Maybe it’s a good book or a hard workout. I myself force myself to workout. Whatever it is, you need to do it. Here are some ideas and a further affirmation of the need to take time for yourself. Our jobs as mom, aside from working in or out of the home, if you do, are tough and often thankless jobs, and stress from the daily grind can be severely detrimental to our mental and physical health. You may say you’re taking care of you, but what does your daily life say? We respect and care about what we put our time into. If we aren’t taking a few minutes a day for us and our wants and needs, to de-stress, what does that say about how we see ourselves? What message are we sending to our children and families?

My Zen

My zen place? Makeup artistry. I find such satisfaction in creating color looks for myself and others.

 

My latest segment in my Five Minutes for Mom series is on finding your foundation shade and best application techniques. If you can’t remember the last time you updated your foundation or culled your beauty products, then it’s time to chuck what you have and treat yourself to some new ones. Check out how I save money at CVS and Target every week, and get your new goodies at the best price, or even better, free! Go over to Coupons.com where they often have coupons for major makeup brands, like Revlon and L’Oreal, as well as natural brands like Burt’s Bees and Simple.

Whatever you do today, take a few minutes, five at the very least, and give yourself some of the amazing care and love you show to everyone else in your life!

I’d love to know what you’d like to know more about in regards to self-care. More body care tips? Organizational ideas to make setting time aside for yourself more plausible? Comment below or contact me at meandbaby.e@gmail.com.

xoxoxo – Olivia

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why You Need Those Five Minutes, Mom

  1. The eye make-up is beautiful. It’s funny, I wrote a post about something similar today! We must be on the same wavelength. Lovely post, Olivia. It’s so important to take care of yourself – especially Mom’s who spend their lives taking care of everybody else, including strangers – and give nothing to themselves. It’s crazy!

    Thanks for this post!

  2. So true! Those weeks where I have been running and taking care of everyone but myself, I feel so drained at the end, and snippy. Definitely need to remember to take care of mom, too!

    • Yes, me too! And then you feel guilty for feeling snippy, and the vicious cycle begins. Thanks for stopping by and here’s to taking time for us this week!

Leave a Reply

