Fashion Friday: A Cropped Jean Jacket with a Dress to Take it From Event to Everyday

I keep talking about these cropped jackets, so I decided it was high time I finally sport one. A cropped jean jacket is great with shorts and sandals, or paired with khakis or trousers. It’s also a perfect choice to taking a dress fit for Summer cocktail parties or day time weddings and making it an everyday piece.

Jacket On Front View.jpg

Jacket on Side view.jpg

Jacket On Front 1 .jpg

For a cropped jacket of any kind, but especially a jean one, you want it small enough to fit snuggly but large enough that you could potentially button it. Otherwise you look like your shopping out of your kids' (or in my case niece's) closet.

For a cropped jacket of any kind, but especially a jean one, you want it small enough to fit snuggly but large enough that you could potentially button it. Otherwise you look like your shopping out of your kids’ (or in my case niece’s) closet.

And here’s the dress on its own.

No Jacket Side View.jpg

No Jacket Front View 2.jpg

No Jacket Front View.jpg

An A-line dress is a flattering fit on every shape. It hugs only where it should on a pear shape (like myself), adds curves to narrow and apple shapes and accentuates the curves of those with an hourglass figure.

To keep it everyday friendly I opted for a silver necklace and earrings instead of the pearls I would pair it with for a more formal event.

Close up for Accessories.jpg

And added some fun heels too. Don’t be afraid to mix your metals, it’s on-trend and is a fun way to add color to your outfit.

I got these in a boutique in Chatham on Cape Cod years ago. I love them! I fear for the day they become worn out.

I got these in a boutique in Chatham on Cape Cod years ago. I love them! I fear for the day they become worn out!

To accentuate the blue in this outfit, I went with a blue eye look and neutral lips. Blue for eyes is very on-trend this spring, and though an all over blue look may be a bit much (at least in my opinion) blue as an accent color on a brown lid is gorgeous!

Eyes Open.jpg

Eyes closed.jpg

 

So there you have it. The cropped jean jacket paired with a dress to take it from event to every day.

Like the Look? Get it here: Dress: Karol Richardson (Click to find a store near you)//Cropped Jean Jacket: Old Navy//Shoes: Old (similar here)//Accessories: Charming Charlies//Eye Colors: Mary Kay//Lips: Mary Kay At Play Lip Jelly in Teddy Bare

XOXOXO – Olivia

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: A Cropped Jean Jacket with a Dress to Take it From Event to Everyday

  1. Thank you so much for joining in with the Say G’Day Saturday linky party! I’ve just shared this on Google+ and Pinterest.

    Hope to see you again this Saturday!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha in Oz

  2. I love the whole ensemble! It’s really adorable! I wish I could pull an outfit together like this. Thanks for sharing with Countdown in Style!

Leave a Reply

