Fashion Friday: A Complete Look for a Semi Formal Event or Special Date Night

This week I started my Wedding Season Series with a tutorial on facial contouring. I showed pictures of the dress I found for some upcoming weddings we’ll be attending, and decided actually donning it would make a perfect Fashion Friday post, especially for any of you with fun events or special date nights coming up this weekend!

Here’s the outfit again.

Wedding Attire.jpg

With a dress like this your undergarments are just as important as making sure you didn’t forget to zip it up. I personally love the Spanx/Assets brands of shape wear (Assets is a less pricey version of Spanx, you can find them at Target). In both versions I prefer the Grand Poobah of shape wear, the open bust mid-thigh body suit. The open bust version allows you to wear your own bra while giving you tummy control as well as a smooth derrière. I have found that in both Assets and Spanx the mid thigh high waisted shorts just end up rolling down, making for a strange looking mid-section, the complete opposite of what we are aiming to achieve, and the body suit alone doesn’t smooth the back view as much as I’d like. So the mid-thigh body suit it is.

My legs are still in their winter white stage, and although I could go for a spray tan I don’t want to risk looking out of season. Let’s be honest, I’m not spending my weekends in South Beach. Instead I’m playing them up as they are with some fun fishnets in a light nude tone.

Fishnet stockings are a fun, flirty alternative to bare legs or panty hose for an evening look

Fishnet stockings are a fun, flirty alternative to bare legs or panty hose for an evening look

And with the under and lower covered, here it is in real life!

Front View

Front View

side angle view keep.jpg

Side View

Side View

A Close Up of the Necklace and Earrings On. 

A Close Up of the Necklace and Earrings On.

With the statement necklace and rather large heels I opted for a soft tousled look as opposed to an up-do for my hair. Using a 1 1/2″ curling iron on a second day blow out (my hair always holds shape better on the second day) I added soft waves and curls to the front.

I’m wearing a brown smokey eye and natural lips. You can see here how I do a color version, as opposed to the classic black, of a smokey eye.

Here’s to fun weekends for all and to looking fabulous at your next event!

Like the Look? Get it here. Dress: Calvin Kelin. Similar Here//Fishnets: Vera Wang.//Shoes: Last Season. Similar Here.//Earrings and Necklace: Old. Similar Here.

XOXO – Olivia

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: A Complete Look for a Semi Formal Event or Special Date Night

    • Why thank you! I wish they were a bit lighter, but they do the job! You have a gorgeous blog, love your style. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. You look very beautiful, I love this dress… many eons ago I didn’t like brown but as I grew up and got some taste… I fell in love with it… this really looks wonderful on you:)

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog, I am following you on Bloglovin now too 🙂

    Great hint about the body shaping items… I was going to by Spanx but I think I will look at what you suggested first 🙂

  2. That dress is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! You look beautiful!! I am with you on spanx. They really make a huge difference. Not that I have a lot to pull together; but still after three kids, a little something to hold in my mommy pouch and hold up the booty, make a lovely difference. And you are 100% on, if you are going to do it then do it right and do the full mid-thigh body suit. I have not tried the Target version, is it really as good as Spanx? Thanks for popping my blog, I am loving it over here. Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • Thanks Kat! Yes, I’m in the same boat, not a ton to suck in but the pooch and odd bumps here and there can always use some tweaking! The Target version does the trick, but my last pair of Spanx gave me a good five years, I doubt this version will do the same. So cheaper, does a good job sucking it all in, but isn’t constructed with near the quality that traditional Spanx are. Hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

