Wedding Season Series, Part 3. The Brows

If I had to choose between a coat of mascara or sculpted brows I would choose brows any day of the week. They are the frame of your face, and can change the look of your facial structure, especially your eyes, for better or worse. Whether you’ve never plucked or groomed your brows a day in your life or recently had a tweezer happy moment, you can give yourself beautiful brows with a few easy steps for your upcoming special event or better yet, your every day look.

I did ad some lip balm in the second photo, my lips were super dry. Cold medicine will do that!

I did add some lip balm in the second photo, my lips were super dry. Cold medicine will do that!

As with style and fashion, rules in makeup are meant to be broken. Brows can be any style you see fit: full, thin, drawn in, dramatic, au natural. However any style you choose will look best when the beginning, arch and end are in the right place for your face. What exactly does that mean?

Make a straight line from the bottom edge of your nose to your brow. That is where it should start.

Make a straight line from the bottom edge of your nose to your brow. That is where it should start.

Starting at the center of your nostril make a line to your pupil when looking straight on. Where it hits your brow is where the arch should be.

Starting at the center of your nostril make a line with your pupil when looking straight on as the second point of the line. Where the line hits your brow is where the arch should be.

Make a line using the center of your nose and the outer corner of your eye as its points. Where it hits your brow is where your brow should end.

Make a line using the center of your nose and the outer corner of your eye as its second point. Where it hits your brow is where your brow should end.

For myself, this means that those gorgeous full brows with the well groomed yet seemingly unruly hair near the nose will never be for me. Those hairs don’t appear on my brows until unibrow territory. My face is far to narrow to pull that off. But hey, maybe someday I’ll go against best practice and give it a go.

Once you’ve figured out your three points, use this step by step tutorial to groom and polish those brows.

Here’s the link to Anastasia Beverly Hills to check out the stencils and brow pomade I mentioned in the tutorial. Have fun sculpting your gorgeous brows!

xoxoxo – Olivia

A Little R & R

Keep Calm and Blog On

 

7 thoughts on “Wedding Season Series, Part 3. The Brows

  1. I did know where your brows should begin and where they should end, but I did not know about the arch. Thank you for posting this. I will have to share this with my younger sister. She has me do her eyebrows, but it would be nice if she could do them herself 😉

Leave a Reply

